Dear 2017 Me – A Letter To Myself

It’s time to say goodbye to 2016 and hello to 2017. In preparation for the new year I have decided to write my New Year’s resolutions in the form of a letter to my future self. I hope I can keep coming back to this letter next year to motivate myself to stay on track and keep doing what I love. I also hope this letter can inspire and motivate others to find happiness in the new year.

This was inspired by a YouTube video from an amazing South African YouTuber, Dennis Ngango. His channel, Defining Dennis, is a variety YouTube channel that has mostly motivational and feel good content, with occasional vlogs that depict his journey of self-discovery. You should definitely go check him out and subscribe to him, and go watch his “Dear 2017 Me” video (psst comment ‘Tamara sent me’ on his video)!


Dear 2017 Me…

It’s time to let go and move on. Yes, you’ve had a rough past but that doesn’t need to define your future. You have this amazing opportunity to create a beautiful future for yourself but you’re throwing that opportunity away every time dwell on something you can’t change.

It’s time to stop focusing on the negatives. As soon as something bad happens you have this tendency to look back at every single thing that has gone wrong in your life. This bad habit is preventing you from growing as a person. If you approach life with a more positive attitude you will be 10x happier! Trust me.

Don’t take anything for granted and always be grateful for the little you have. You WILL get a camera one day. You WILL get a decent laptop one day. And you WILL get a tripod. But for now you’ve got to work with what you have. Yes, I know filming on your phone is such a pain but at least you have a phone. Put your best effort into your videos and they will be amazing, no matter what equipment you use.

And don’t you dare quit your YouTube channel again like you did last year. There better be a new video on that channel every single week or else I’m unsubscribing (yes, I’m subscribed to myself). Don’t let anyone get in the way of doing what you love.

Ignore the haters. They’re really not worth your time or energy. You’ve experienced so much hatred and had so much negativity thrown your way but that has made you stronger as a person. Whatever you may be going through right now, always remember you’ve been through much worse and you can get through any obstacle life throws your way. You seriously are stronger than you think you are.

And most importantly, stop hating yourself so much. You need to do stuff that’s going to make you feel good about yourself; Get out of bed in the morning, eat a healthy and balanced diet, start exercising more, and invest your heart and soul into the things you love. Don’t lose your passion.

You are on an incredible journey that’s just beginning. Enjoy every moment.

Lots of love

2016 Tamara


I hope you guys enjoyed reading this letter to myself and can maybe draw some inspiration from my letter. It was kinda hard for me to write this and definitely a very emotional experience. Let me know what you think in the comments down below, and also add some of your 2017 goals because I would love to hear them.

I also recently did a 2016 Reflections video on YouTube, in which I reflected on my first year university experience and doing a degree that was never my choice. Click here to watch it.

Happy New Year! And wishing you all a prosperous 2017.

Lots of love

Tamara Ten ♡
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

Leave a Reply

